Elementary 2014 Teacher of the Year - Naomi Ford

Naomi Ford
Hunters Creek Elementary School
Grade 3/ ESL

Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary, Certified Church Educator, 2006-2008
Austin College (Sherman, Texas), Master of Arts in Teaching, 2003
Austin College (Sherman, Texas), Bachelor of Fine Arts/Psychology, 2002

Teaching History                                    
Hunters Creek Elementary, Spring Branch ISD, 2008-Present
St. Philip Presbyterian Church (Hurst, Texas), 2005-2008
McKamy Elementary, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD, 2003-2005

Nine years total of teaching experience

In her own words . . .

“My contribution is my heart. I’ve been in different schools and worked with students at each extreme. No matter rich, poor, dyslexic, gifted, English-language learner, boy or girl, I hope that the time I invest in them has made a difference to them. I hope that they know that I continue to believe in them and they are loved.”

In the words of others . . .

“Omi has extremely high expectations for herself and her students. She helps each student reach his or her full potential. She is able to keep each student challenged, and right on the cutting edge of learning, without causing the child to be stressed. Her bright students are challenged and motivated to learn. Her struggling learners are challenged and motivated as well. She’s able to provide each student with just the right amount of support to “be the best” that he or she can be.”
Robye Snyder, Hunters Creek Elementary Principal

“Mrs. Ford embraces SBISD’s T-2-4 initiative by ensuring that all students reach their full potential by providing the needed support to develop a solid foundation on which to build. She sets high expectations for students and expects only the very best from them.”
Belinda Henry, Hunters Creek Elementary Assistant Principal

Selected Honors, Awards & Activities:
Hunters Creel Elementary Teacher of the Year, Spring Branch ISD, 2013-2014
West Houston Area Council of Teachers of English, member, 2013-Present
Grade 3 Team Leader, 2012-2013
Campus Improvement Team (CIT), Member, 2010-2011


Spring Branch ISD